Surprise! These 5 Foods Are Not Gluten-Free

image-nf-blog-Surprise! These 5 Foods Are Not Gluten-Free-20160628

Although wheat is a commonly known grain that contains gluten, it is also present in rye, barley, oats, triticale, and less familiar varieties of wheat, such as durum, spelt, and kamut.

If you or your family are committed to gluten-free eating, add these five unsuspecting sources of gluten to your “no-go” list.

female chef thinking

1. Soy Sauce

Many of us don’t realize this delicious condiment and cooking staple contains wheat! Although the fermentation process used in making soy sauce is believed to break down most of the gluten, it is not necessarily tested. A safer alternative is tamari soy sauce, which is traditionally made without wheat.

2. Wheat-Free Products

A product labelled as “wheat free” is not the same as labelling it “gluten free.” It may contain other gluten laden grains, such as rye, barley, or triticale. No matter the claims of a front label, check the ingredients for hints of other gluten sources.

3. Malt Vinegar

The title says it all – malt! This traditional fish & chip vinegar is infused with barley malt. And because barley contains gluten, this is not fit for a gluten-free diet. Better alternatives include apple vinegar or white vinegar.

4. Baking Soda

The next time you bake gluten-free muffins, double check your baking soda. Some brands contain wheat starch, rather than corn starch, as the anti-clumping agent. Although most of us wouldn’t think to read the ingredient list on baking soda, it’s worth your time.

5. Chocolate

Don’t panic yet! Pure chocolate on its own is gluten free, but beware of varieties that contain glutinous ingredients, such as barley malt extract, modified food starch, and artificial flavours. Even high-quality chocolates may contain trace levels of gluten due to cross contamination with other products manufactured in the same facility. Your best bet is to stick with the purest forms of chocolate that have been manufactured in a gluten-free setting.

Digestive Support

Natural Factors Gluten Relief can help ease gas, bloating, and other digestive complaints due to eating unsuspecting sources of gluten.

Save